The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

The Fiddle Music of Scotland

A comprehensive annotated collection of 365 tunes with an historical introduction; foreword by Yehudi Menuhin. This, the most all-embracing collection of Scottish fiddle music undertaken in the 20th century, includes slow airs, marches, strathspeys, reels and rants, hornpipes, jigs and pastorals. All the major composers are represented - the Gows, Marshall, Fraser and Skinner - and all the melodies are fully bowed for the instrument. The introduction traces the history of the fiddle and the music through the centuries, and contains a section on the specialised bowing techniques which give Scottish fiddle music some of its unique qualities. Appendix notes.

Paperback (188 pp)

ISBN: 9780946868049; ISMN 9790708090021


Retail: £23.95

Prices below include p&p.

£27.80 UK First Class
£33.55 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here