The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Stepping Northwards

24 Scots airs and dances for violin with cello accompaniment; Grade 4-6 for both instruments.
The collection comprises slow airs, hornpipes, strathspeys, reels ("The de’il among the tailors", "The mason’s apron"), marches ("Scotland the brave") and variations ("There’s nae luck about the house"). This book is an attempt to re-explore the possibilities of the 'Scots fiddle plus cello' format in present-day terms. The medium was popular between 1750 and 1875 and was favoured by the great Niel Gow accompanied by his brother Donald Gow. All pieces are fully bowed and partially fingered. The pieces are grouped into sets for performance but it is equally possible to play the pieces singly or construct alternative sets. Notes on the music.

Paperback (36 pp)


Retail: £9.95

Prices below include p&p.

£12.15 UK First Class
£14.90 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here